At last, a mouse in the house!

31 Jan

Hello SK friends and family,

Today I am proud to announce that miracles do come true. At long last, I now have my own pet mouse to play with. His name is Scrabble, which is coincidentally the same name of the mouse that used to run around Orchard House while I was writing “Little Women.”

What are the odds??!!

Wave hello to all our blog friends, Scrabble.

IMG_1849

Scrabble has only been around since the after-Christmas sales, (I may have mentioned that My Pub is as cheap as they come,) but he and I hit it off already. For starters, Scrabble’s ears and paws are the same shade of green as my eyes. Such color coordination is vital to a long-lasting friendship, as you already know.

I am also pleased that green is our color because it is the same color Nina from Bay Ridge will be once she finds out that I have my very own pet mouse, too.

For those new to SK, Nina from Bay Ridge is a spoiled NYC cat who soaks in views of the Verrazano-Narrows Bridge while being spoon-fed artisan kibble before and after playing with the live mice that came standard in her apartment.

Nina and I could have been roommates, but she decided, NO! she was going to be the only cat in the household, so I got shipped up to Watertown, Mass., where I now live in a mouse-less abode with MAD.

Well, it is no longer mouse-less. MAD and My Pub think Scrabble is fake, but let me tell you, when they’re not around, he’s quite a live wire! Here are selfies he took from My Pub’s phone when she left it unattended.

Scrabble, you’re holding the phone too close, try again.

IMG_1848

This a little better. Hey, that’s me in the background dreaming about a Cub’s pennant. (I think I should get Scrabble a Selfie Stick for Valentine’s Day.)

IMG_1913

Here, is a photo of me showing Scrabble around the apartment.

IMG_1862

SK Disciples already know that I have a grueling job keeping watch over the street on which MAD and I live.  Honestly, it’s lonely work, as not much happens here (except of course for this) and sometimes I fall asleep on the job.

So, I am teaching Scrabble how to stand guard, so I can get some guilt-free shuteye. Plus, it is always good for him to build up his skills.

I took this picture of him in training. I think he has a bright future ahead.

IMG_1855

A few times a day, Scrabble and I curl up together and chill just as we are here. It is nice having a friend to spend time with, even if it’s just doing this.

IMG_1946

Thanks for tuning in, xo, LMA and Scrabble

We’ll be learning more about Scrabble, and he’s even going to help us put together some posts. As a mouse, he knows his way around computers and blogging, and as Scrabble, he knows a lot about the Alcatts.

8 Responses to “At last, a mouse in the house!”

  1. Nina the Cat January 31, 2015 at 5:50 pm #

    FYI, to correct the factual errors in your slanderous report, I receive artisan-quality consomme, hand-mixed by my personal chefs twice per day. My stomach is too delicate for peasants’ kibble.

  2. Carol January 31, 2015 at 5:52 pm #

    Welcome Scrabble!

  3. liz feltham February 1, 2015 at 1:18 am #

    I laughed so hard reading this, I’m really going to enjoy Scrabble’s joining in the blogging duties. And would love to hear more from Nina the Cat as well 🙂

  4. bernecho February 1, 2015 at 1:39 am #

    I read it to my granddaughters and they believe that Scrabble is a very cool mouse, they are jealous! xo Mimi

  5. onespoiledcat February 1, 2015 at 7:10 am #

    Oh boy! Your very own mouse! This opens up a whole new world of fun doesn’t it……I have a mousie that looks a LOT like Scrabble…..wonder if they’re related??

    Hugs, Sammy

  6. LB February 1, 2015 at 10:16 pm #

    Fun post! Love the shot of Scrabble looking out the window 🙂

  7. sued51 February 2, 2015 at 7:42 am #

    I also love the pic of Scrabble looking out the window…this is a very creative post!

  8. Sheila February 2, 2015 at 2:13 pm #

    I’m happy to hear you have someone to share in the guard duties! The two of you look great together – must be that color coordination. I’ll look forward to hearing about all your future adventures.

Leave a Reply

Perfect-The-Days

Poetry, Inspiration and a platform for Global Issues

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Open the Vox

Jester Wisely

sonofthemountains

Child of the human condition

Toast and Tea

Express Yourself in Beautifully Webbed Words

Disrupted Physician

The Physician Wellness Movement and Illegitimate Authority: The Need for Revolt and Reconstruction

