Happy Anniversay Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy!

30 Sep

little women

Hello SK Fans,

Another BIG Anniversary today is the publication of “Little Women,” everyone’s favorite book.

Here are a few factoids of Little Women, first published Sept. 30, 1868:

  • I was commissioned to write a book geared for girls, because back in 1868, most young adult books were geared for boys. Publishers began to see a market for books geared for girls as more girls attended school and were capable of reading novels.
  • I spent less than 3 months writing “Little Women” by hand on a wooden slab my father, Bronson Alcott, built for me as a desk in my bedroom.
  • I spent nearly 10 to 14 hours a day writing from May to July.
  • I did not like the story and submitted it with a note to the publisher declaring it the worst material I ever produced.
  • Mr. Wiley, the publisher, did not care much for it either, but his 20-year-old niece read it and LOVED it.
  • A small lot of books was produced.
  • It sold so well, a sequel, entitled “Good Wives” was commissioned by November.
  • “Little Women” and “Good Wives” have never gone out of print since 1868 and 1869 respectively.
  • I was the highest paid and best-selling author of my time, think J.K. Rowling.
  • I never dreamed my three-month labor of love would bring so much to so many generation after generation.

with love, Louisa May Alcatt, xo

3 Responses to “Happy Anniversay Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy!”

  1. Bruce Thiesen October 2, 2014 at 7:37 am #

    Such a long tail on that 3-month writing effort.

    • Louisa May Alcatt October 2, 2014 at 7:43 am #

      … and, I thought it was trash! We are our own worst critics, xo LMA

Leave a Reply

Perfect-The-Days

Poetry, Inspiration and a platform for Global Issues

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Open the Vox

Comedy. Mysticism.

sonofthemountains

Child of the human condition

Toast and Tea

Express Yourself in Beautifully Webbed Words

Disrupted Physician

The Physician Wellness Movement and Illegitimate Authority: The Need for Revolt and Reconstruction

