In honor of Helen Keller

14 Sep

Once I knew only darkness and stillness… my life was without past or future… but a little word from the fingers of another fell into my hand that clutched at emptiness, and my heart leaped to the rapture of living.

IMG_0478.JPG

Happy Sunday SK fans!

On this day in 1964 Helen Keller was among the recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

Our dear Helen is pictured above with President John F. Kennedy. She is on the right with the beautiful smile. However the medal, one of the highest Civilian honors, was presented by President Lyndon Johnson.

Interesting Alcott fact regarding Helen Keller. Franklin Sanborn, a staunch abolitionist, social reformer, frequent visitor of my childhood home, as well as a mentor and employer of Louisa May Alcott, (that’s me!!) discovered Annie Sullivan.

He plucked Annie Sullivan from the dredges of Tewksbury State Saniturium, where she was placed as a seriously near-sighted orphan. He brought her to Perkins School for the Blind, and helped fund an operation which restored most of her sight. Annie Sullivan went on to help Helen Keller overcome her blindness and deafness and become one of the most extraordinary and inspiring individuals of all time.

Thank you for tuning in today, xo LMA

12 Responses to “In honor of Helen Keller”

  1. roughwighting September 14, 2014 at 1:32 pm #

    These kinds of stories just give me goosebumps and the added incentive to ‘do good’ for others. It’s amazing how one good deed becomes a bigger wave of help/love/goodness that affects so many.

  2. Bruce Thiesen September 14, 2014 at 2:04 pm #

    LMA, it is so odd that you posted this today. Until Friday night, I had never seen this photo of HK with JFK. And now, twice in three days. I learned that she was from the same section of Alabama as Muscle Shoals, the spot that hosted very famous music recording studios. Now, I’ve learned that there is a connection between LMA and HK.

    • Louisa May Alcatt September 14, 2014 at 9:40 pm #

      Have you seen the Muscle Shoals special on PBS? Great documentary. Trust me I’ll find a way to link the alcatts to that, too!

      • Bruce Thiesen September 14, 2014 at 9:45 pm #

        Yes, I have seen that movie. I watched it and that’s where I learned about HK and JFK. Someone was telling the story about how people (even HK, who was without all her senses) could feel the magic and power of Muscle Shoals.

      • Louisa May Alcatt September 14, 2014 at 9:47 pm #

        Yes I caught that too. Have never been to MS but am considering g a trip to see, or feel, what I’ve been missing.

      • Bruce Thiesen September 14, 2014 at 9:51 pm #

        Go sit by that Tennessee River and hear its songs.

      • Louisa May Alcatt September 15, 2014 at 11:28 am #

        One day, hopefully, I will, xo

  3. onespoiledcat September 14, 2014 at 4:26 pm #

    A truly extraordinary woman.

    Pam

    • Louisa May Alcatt September 18, 2014 at 7:10 am #

      we don’t think there is anyone more inspiring than HK, xo LMA

  4. LB September 14, 2014 at 4:28 pm #

    Inspiring! Love your blog, LMA!

  5. sued51 September 15, 2014 at 6:57 am #

    I love these types of connections too…”The Miracle Worker” was one of my favorite movies when I was a child…both Helen Keller and Annie Sullivan were inspiring people. I think all children should see that movie!

  6. bernecho September 15, 2014 at 7:13 pm #

    Keep inspiring me with your wonderful posts!
    Mimi

Leave a Reply

Perfect-The-Days

Poetry, Inspiration and a platform for Global Issues

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Open the Vox

Comedy. Mysticism.

sonofthemountains

Child of the human condition

Toast and Tea

Express Yourself in Beautifully Webbed Words

Disrupted Physician

The Physician Wellness Movement and Illegitimate Authority: The Need for Revolt and Reconstruction

