Another week at Camp Fresh Pond

21 Feb
20140221-184929.jpg

Safe under the dining room table. Remind me to thank the guy who designed all these bars.

Hey SK fans, I KNEW I was in trouble when my pub came down from the attic carrying my pink travel bag. Last time I hopped in there, and it was willingly, I expected to be dropped off at cat camp. I was looking forward to seeing all my furriends, as I guess we call each other, taking a few cat naps, scoring some homegrown cat nip and singing with the other cat campers until all hours.

But, to my horror, we were not going to camp that time at all! I ended up at some evil vet office and was pierced with needles and who knows what. There was blood.

Nope, my pub was not fooling me today. I saw that Bag and like Pavlov’s dog, knew what was next. I hid under the dining room table. She will never find me there. But she did. I guess I was not original. But she could not get me. Ah ha, I was going nowhere!

What was this? I hear the unmistakable beat of kibble landing harmoniously in my food dish. Aaah, move over Beethoven, nothing makes sweeter music than my food meeting my bowl. But wait, it’s not time to eat. Must be a special occasion. I don’t want to miss a good time or a meal!

Nabbed!!! Oh, that was mean, low and sneaky. I won’t forget this.

I whine all the way to the evil vet’s office, drowning out Adam whatshisname and the rest of the Counting Crows. Who’s counting, anyway?

Hey, look, it’s Camp Fresh Pond. No cruel vet. I didn’t see this coming, then again MAD did bring down his suitcase the other day and tossed his international adapter inside (along with some other things.) I should pay more attention.

I guess he leaves for the UK in the predawn hours tomorrow, and my pub is driving him even earlier to the airport. I guess they’re taking this relationship thing seriously. You really have to like someone to do an airport run. You must really love them if you do it before dawn. I knew it would work out.

My pub explained that she won’t be around enough to guarantee I will be fed. I happen to like eating, so I am glad they opted for cat camp. They are dropping me off here tonight because the counselors do not do check ins at 3 am

But could they pick a worse day for me to go camping? It’s pouring outside, giant puddles everywhere, not to mention it is now thundering and lightening. For added charm, we still have ice and snow on the ground. She got MAD these nipper boots, but I don’t see any for me. Hmmmm.

Oh good, I will be in one of the kitty cottages. I am looking forward to catching up with old friends here. Next time I won’t be so quick to run away when my camp bag comes into sight.

Btw, as if my pub had nothing else to do, i.e. taxes, clean out her car, etc., she started a. Facebook page for me so we can keep in touch while I am camping. (This camp has wifi.) Friend me at Louisa May Alcatt.

Have a good weekend, xo, LMA

20140221-185055.jpg

Louisa May Alcatt reporting to Cat Camp.

20140221-185209.jpg

My pub got MAD these awesome rain boots and none for me. Do you think she likes him more than she likes him?

20140221-185156.jpg

Everybody is heading to Cat Camp.

7 Responses to “Another week at Camp Fresh Pond”

  1. Bruce Thiesen February 22, 2014 at 12:28 pm #

    In the end, it seems like you have an good attitude about this. Perhaps your pub could use a second travel bag with a different color for vet trips to give you a clearer indication. This will also keep those cat camp trips special from start to finish, because you won’t be wondering the whole time you’re sitting in the pink bag.

    • louisamayalcatt February 22, 2014 at 5:25 pm #

      Bruce, as always, you make an excellent suggestion. I think she should get me a new bag and matching boots for every excursion. Notice I did not get new boots but MAD did, which happen to coordinate quite nicely with his new laptop travel bag. Trust me, there will be some changes around here. xo from Camp Fresh Pond, LMA

      • Bruce Thiesen February 22, 2014 at 11:01 pm #

        MAD will have the snappy coordinated look that will give him a lift when he is away on business and missing you and your pub. That’s good all around. Your trip to Camp Fresh Pond will fill you with good memories. It seems your pub is the only one left out.

      • louisamayalcatt February 24, 2014 at 4:51 am #

        Being left behind is not always a bad thing, as she has plenty to do, such as the above-mentioned taxes. We should note here, however, that besides thinking about the taxes, she has yet to start them. xo LMA

      • louisamayalcatt February 24, 2014 at 6:06 pm #

        We should add, that though she has not yet found the time to do taxes, she did manage to find enough to create a facebook page for me, who really isn’t even her cat. Frightening!

  2. closetprofessor February 24, 2014 at 12:45 am #

    I hope LMA has a great time at camp. After the last time I got my feline companion in her cat carrier, I had to leave her at the vet for a week. She was not happy with me, and I don’t believe it will ever be easy to get her back in that thing. But at least she is well and seems to have forgiven me.

  3. LB February 27, 2014 at 11:07 pm #

    The tricks we have to play to get our cats in their carriers … I have to hide the carrier in a small room the day ahead of time, and using the kibble trick, sneak her into said room and finally into the carrier. Not an easy thing to do šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Perfect-The-Days

Poetry, Inspiration and a platform for Global Issues

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Open the Vox

Comedy. Mysticism.

sonofthemountains

Child of the human condition

Toast and Tea

Express Yourself in Beautifully Webbed Words

Disrupted Physician

The Physician Wellness Movement and Illegitimate Authority: The Need for Revolt and Reconstruction

