Those NYC cats lead the life

18 Jul
I am chasing a bug around the kitchen practicing for when MAD gets me a live mouse to play with.

I am chasing a bug around the kitchen practicing for when MAD gets me a live mouse to play with.

Hello Suffragette Kitty fans,

Well, I am home from Camp Fresh Pond, aka Cat Camp, where MAD, my dad, dropped me off. He and my publicist went off to visit my nemesis, I mean niece, Nina the cat.  Nina lives in Bay Ridge with her parents WHDH and the guy with the girl’s name, henceforth TGWTGN.

At first, I was a bit upset because I wasn’t invited to visit my old hometown, where MAD and WHDH were celebrating birthdays. I felt I was being dumped at cat camp instead. But Camp Fresh Pond turned out OK. We had s’mores with roasted catnip and took long catnaps. I made some new friends for nine lifetimes, too.

I had so much fun, that I booked my cabin for another week later this summer. I hope MAD and my publicist find something to do with themselves while I’m there.

This time they occupied themselves in the Big Apple taking in a Broadway show called “Once.” They walked around Times Square, chowed down on noodles and haddock (one of my favorites) at an Asian restaurant in Chelsea. They all had a wonderful time. And, they unanimously decided that when “Cats” comes back to Broadway, they will take Nina and me along. I hope that outing includes a stop for haddock.

After a great night at the Big Apple, they went back to Bay Ridge and hung out with Nina, who between you and me, is a little spoiled. Not only does Nina have her litter box positioned with a million-dollar view of the Verrazano-Narrows Bridge, she now has a real pet mouse to play with.

WHDH and TGWTGN never stop indulging Nina. I tell you, those NYC cats are living the life. I’m not sure when Mousie moved in with them, but it’s not fair that Nina gets a live rodent to chase around whenever she wants.

As for my home entertainment, MAD buys these cheap little felt made-in-China things that are shaped like mice, but they’re not. Worse, they are pink and purple –  not real mousie colors at all. And, they don’t run. But they do hide, sometimes for months at a time under the refrigerator. I asked for a real mouse, something like Nina has, (Nina has everything) but MAD said, “No live rodents in the apartment.”

If I want a live pet, I guess I have to make due with the bugs that sneak in when my pub leaves the porch door open for too long. (something MAD never does.) Very sad, I knows. So, here I am pictured chasing a fly – aka, the unloved cat’s mouse –  around the kitchen. Maybe someday, (sniff) I’ll get a live mouse to play with.

xo, LMA

Leave a Reply

Perfect-The-Days

Poetry, Inspiration and a platform for Global Issues

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Open the Vox

Comedy. Mysticism.

sonofthemountains

Child of the human condition

Toast and Tea

Express Yourself in Beautifully Webbed Words

Disrupted Physician

The Physician Wellness Movement and Illegitimate Authority: The Need for Revolt and Reconstruction

