A little damage control

15 Jun

Cat Nap

Hello and welcome back to a special weekend installment of Suffragette Kitty.

I’m in a bit of a mood today. I am alone in the apartment  because MAD and my publicist are out playing in the street – literally –  hobnobbing with the neighbors, drinking beer and munching on hot dogs, Asian noodles and Montana Monster Cookies and other potluck delicacies.

Today was the neighborhood block party. Apparently, my invitation got lost in the mail, as I noticed that MAD and my publicist left without me. I also noticed that Nanook, the giant, hairy dog who lives downstairs from me, and all the other hounds in ‘hood, are out there, sniffing out all the unattended plates.

I don’t get it. I mean, my publicist doesn’t even LIVE here and she gets to go. Maybe because she made the Montana Monster Cookies, (which look to be a big hit).  I offered to help, but she kicked me off the counter.

The block party is an initiative by Watertown officials to do a little damage control. They don’t want folks outside the area to continue associating Watertown, Massachusetts as the place where terrorists go to die. Watertown is actually quite a nice, family-oriented –  albeit feline-neglecting – place to be, as evidenced by the swelling number of young families moving in. The town even paid for some of the food!

Wait! Is that Nanook eating potato chips off the street? I think someone stepped on them first. Gross! Nanook, exhibit even a speck of dignity, would you? You will NEVER see me eating off the streets. I take my meals in my china “Votes for Women” dish only. A lot of good that does me. Nanook is outside, the life of the party and here I am stuck inside looking out watching him and everyone else have fun.

I don’t have to take this. I think I’ll just curl up and have a nap.

Hope you have a better weekend that I am,

xo, LMA

3 Responses to “A little damage control”

  1. liz feltham June 15, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

    Lovely torties should be inside anyway, not soiling their paws with grounds the commoners walk on 🙂

    • louisamayalcatt June 16, 2013 at 9:41 am #

      Thanks for putting that in perspective, Liz. It must have been some block party because MAD is just lumbering out of bed now! xo LMA

  2. Carol Jamison June 16, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    I have been in Watertown, Miss Alcatt! Terrific library!

Leave a Reply

Perfect-The-Days

Poetry, Inspiration and a platform for Global Issues

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Open the Vox

Jester Wisely

sonofthemountains

Child of the human condition

Toast and Tea

Express Yourself in Beautifully Webbed Words

Disrupted Physician

The Physician Wellness Movement and Illegitimate Authority: The Need for Revolt and Reconstruction

